I heard ’em say

I did something different

Secret conversation overheard by a mortal

As night fell I kept my light off

As the day slept I kept my stereo off

And I heard ‘em say…

Keep your friends close while you have them with you

But learn to let go when their season’s past

The only friend you have is really you

So don’t let go, give your dreams a chance

Life’s not complicated, let’s not do and don’t

Death is even simpler whether you can or can’t

Life passes, life happens, that fast

Don’t compromise coz you’re afraid of the game

Just visualise and stay ahead of the game

Bend it, break it, and mend it yourself

Otherwise – it’ll age on that shelf

Learn from yesterday, why do it again

If you keep repeating, life will press stop

Imagine – that God is watching you

Make Him proud

Keeps the devil cursing

And I heard ‘em say…

Angels have wings, let them carry you

Angels help you fly, so don’t break their wings

Demons feed you fear, if they carry you

Fear cripples life, so watch who you marry

Loss of blood doesn’t equal death

Push more than a little bit

Hurt more than a little bit

And I heard ‘em say…

God’s disappointed he gave some of y’all life

Coz all you do, is chicken through that life

Feed on the bacon of those that get dirty

And I heard ‘em say…

God is God whether you believe it or not

He’s watching you whether you believe it or not

God is good whether you blame Him or not

So tomorrow night

Let silence be my friend

I’ve been invited to watch the angels play

Coz last night

I heard ‘em say…

Life isn’t worth it if you don’t learn the game

Be wise as a serpent and gentle as a lamb

2 thoughts on “I heard ’em say

Leave a comment